Today was a beautiful day for a ride. The last few days were hot and humid, but today the weather was cooler, less humid, but still sunny. I took a ride on a new route for me, over to Vestal and up Glenwood Road. I had heard that the March 2007 issue of Bicycling Magazine had a list of the "100 Best Local Climbs in the U.S.". Glenwood Road leads up to the start of one of those climbs, up Underwood Road in Vestal. That climb is rated as a 1.8 mile, 9% average grade, and 855 feet of vertical gain.

I didn’t tackle Underwood today; I rode 17.7 miles only out to the bottom of Underwood and back to Endicott. Much of that was on Glenwood Road. Low traffic volume, beautiful scenery, beautiful weather. I brought a camera with me, but I didn’t feel like stopping to take any pictures. [View route]

